Z1/Z2 caloric burn | Uphill Athlete

Z1/Z2 caloric burn

• Creator
    Topic
    jdurfee
    Participant

I am relatively new to the training concepts in TftNA, but have committed to it for this year and am currently following the 24 week TP.

I’ve been doing strict Z1/Z2 training for about a month now and have noticed that I’m gaining some weight. No substantial changes in diet, but a noticeable decrease in training intensity while dealing with some ADS during this base period.

I assume I’m going to need to modify my diet to cut calories while doing base training. Is this normal and the experience of others? Should I incorporate a 1x weekly higher intensity session just to burn more calories during this phase or is that taboo at this point? Thanks in advance for any insights!

• Participant
    Reed on #36422

It might be helpful to share some more specifics / numbers. Generally speaking, as the volume of training increases the need to restrict calories goes away. For some athletes, making sure to get enough calories is the bigger problem. And for many people, the quality of the food probably matters most. If you’re eating mostly healthy, something like 30% fat / 30% protein / 40% carbohydrates (give or take 10% for any of those), focusing on improving aerobic capacity especially if you have a deficiency will be a big lever to pull.

I have found the diet quality score in Racing Weight [0] to be useful. The simple act of tracking a few numbers during the day can be a powerful psychological tool to help nudge behavior.

[0] https://www.thriftbooks.com/w/racing-weight-how-to-get-lean-for-peak-performance_matt-fitzgerald/264222/#isbn=1934030996&idiq=4694756

Participant
    Zuko on #36445

Thanks for posting this, I’ve been experiencing the same thing! I’m in week 4 of the 24 week plan and have gained 5 pounds, and it’s not muscle as I measure my waist.

Inactive
    Anonymous on #36458

I agree with Reed. As volume increases, the need to restrict goes away.