Zone 2 – walking?

• Creator
    Topic
    timoteo1234
    Participant

Good morning,

I am new to this uphill athlete thing and have been beginning to get into splitboarding. I want to get in better shape for the next season which starts about 6 months from now. I had been running pretty regularly and was up to 7 mile runs but had to take a month off due to injury and crazy time at work. It was in that month that I read about the uphill training.

When I tried to go out for a zone 2 run last night I was dismayed to find out that is a brisk walk for me. Should I really staying at a walking pace? Or should I be mixing in running?

Also, I see a lot of focus on the HR training but not a lot on lifting. Do people run and lift on same days or alternate?

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #54912

Should I really staying at a walking pace?

Yes. The most important thing when you start proper endurance training is to improve your aerobic metabolism—i.e. build a base. For most, the initial pace will be very slow and not very stressful. That will change over time.

Or should I be mixing in running?

Only in two instances: if you can run under your aerobic (not anaerobic) threshold; or if you need a few weeks to sharpen for a race.

Also, I see a lot of focus on the HR training but not a lot on lifting. Do people run and lift on same days or alternate?

Search this site for strength training or check out one of our books. Lifting is an important part of any endurance program, so long as it’s done where it counts and without a focus on creating dead weight (i.e. mass.)

Participant
    timoteo1234 on #54956

Thanks Scott! Ill admit it is a little unmotivating to walk, but I will stay the course. I just picked up a copy of the Training for the Uphill Athlete, but havent had a chance to start to dig into it so some quick help on the forum is much appreciated.