Training at High Altitude. Range? | Uphill Athlete

Training at High Altitude. Range?

• Creator
    Topic
    kamal753
    Participant

Hi UA community,

Here is my question in Short:
    What is the optimum altitude where one can train their physical capacity?

The longer version:
    I’ve been climbing Himalayan peaks for over 5 years now, mostly supported. 99% of my training is done at an altitude of 500m. During each trip to the mountains, I take a good 3 days for the initial acclimatization and everything is good after that. Over the years I’ve progressively pushed myself up to 6500m and have had no issues. My next progression is to the 7000m & 8000m peaks.

TFNA & UA’s programs, TP’s metrics have been my staple, customizing and improving the program’s under Scott J’s guidelines. As a progression in the training, I would like to spend about 30 days in the high altitude, training before my next climb.

For those of you who have climbed 7000m & 8000m (especially without bottled O’s) peaks, what do you think is the ideal range of altitude to train at? Will it be:
    2500m-3500m ?
    3500-4500m ?
    4500-5000m ?
    Or if one has access to all the above ranges, how can one allocate a training period to each of the ranges? When is the ideal time to allocate this training period before a major climb, like an 8000m peak? My current approach is that assuming that I climb in Autumn (September), I intend to put this high altitude training block in July.[My CTL is projected to reach 100 by the end of June]. After which I return to low altitude (500m) and take the whole month of August to Taper and Recover.

Please do share your suggestions from your experience.

Posted In: Mountaineering

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #42010