Is Rainier possible?

• Creator
    Topic
    Julianna DeMoss
    Participant

Today starts my first day of training under the Basic level.
    I wanted to know from the experienced athletes/coaches/guides and gurus on this page – In your opinion, would Mt. Rainier be possible this summer (2022) for a beginner, like me without a guide group?

I would say I am about average for fitness level – I have never had formal training. I am new to ice climbing/winter hiking, with about two months under my belt (December 2021 – Feb 2022). I have been rock climbing for a few years, but all approaches have been relatively short in length, so I have not yet had to carry a heavy pack (with rope) more than one hour one way. I have only been exposed to elevation for about a 8 months (I just moved to Denver, Colorado from Florida in the summer of 2021), and have been on a handful of winter hikes in the Rockies, and Mt. Evans area.

Really appreciate your opinion and any information you have!

MarkPostle on #63316