Big Alpine Rock Objectives

• Creator
    Topic
    katy_pf
    Participant

Hiya! I have been climbing and playing in the mountains for over 20 years, but am very new to training. For every route I climb, I add three more to my list. My list for the next few years contains a bunch of 5.10-5.12 grade IV and V climbs.

A few weeks ago, a girlfriend and I climbed Clean Break at WA Pass in a day (5.10c, grade IV). Car to car it was 17 hours, the rock portion was 8.5 hours. I led all the 5.10 pitches, with a pack on. Yes, I was tired afterwards, but pretty psyched for how everything went. And now I want more! How do I train for bigger, harder objectives?? I work from home on the computer, and have access to rock outside, a home woody, a hangboard, and gymnastics rings (and a gym in Wenatchee whenever that opens!).

This season I’ve been working on my head game, as I have been afraid of leading hard pitches high up and far away from the car. (I am making excellent progress with this). I could also improve my uphill game, I’m pretty slow compared to my mountain guide husband and my ultra-runner friends. But what else? Power? Endurance? Power-endurance?

Any advice or direction would be greatly appreciated. There’s a lot to wade through in the training world and I just need some advice on where to start! Thank you so much!!!!

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #44717

Fantastic work on the ascent of Clean Break, it’s been years since I climbed in that area so I looked up the route, sounds amazing!

A little help with your questions:
    It sounds like you’ve identified a few places to focus.
    1) head game you are already working on, well done.
    2) better uphill ability on approaches – this can be a game changer, the more efficient you are at uphill with a pack, the less fatigued you’ll be before you begin the technical climbing leaving much more energy for the climb itself. Leading of course to having the stamina for harder routes.