Bakers Cyst

• Creator
    Topic
    MAD
    Participant

Hey Pete

I have not been diagnosed yet but I am quite sure I have a Bakers Cyst on my right leg. It had been there for some time but was never very large. Just recently I started training again after a few years layoff. I was gently coaxing my body back into shape over the last few months but did a one big day and then another a week or two later.It became a bit more painful and obvious. I just started feeling strong again, had lost 10 pounds and of course do not want to stop training. I am 53 and do understand my body has limitations but obviously forgot Gradualness. Just wondering if you have any suggestions. Will this go away if I rest? What can I do to help it? I am okay with draining but not Cortisone shots. I understand that Bakers Cyst are usually from something else, injury, Arthritis, etc. Any help would be much appreciated.

Posted In: Injury & Rehab

• Participant
    Pete Dickinson MS,PT on #44500

MAD,
    A typical cause of bakers cycst is a meniscus tear, easily treatable with an arthroscopy, and worth the gains in training tolerance. Usually an MRI is needed to qualify for surgery as there are other causes…. Sometimes a surgery is worth it to get you to the point where you can tolerate training loads, other times the better course is the gradual rehab approach to save you the trauma of the surgery. Bakers cyst is one of those conditions where it is worth it to look at some more invasive options.
    Cheers,
    Pete

Participant
    MAD on #44607

Hey Pete

Much appreciated to hear your thoughts! I have a appointment to a sport injury clinic. I am hoping they will be able and willing to get me set up with an MRI and plan whether that is surgery or rehab.

Keep up the great work Uphill Athlete folks!

Myles

Participant
    gould.lydia on #51337