Ankle injury | Uphill Athlete

Ankle injury

• Creator
    Topic
    andystart
    Participant

Hi folks,

I’m new to the Uphill Athlete community.

I was just about to design and implement a 26 week training schedule after reading Training for the New Alpinism when I went over on my right ankle doing some winter climbing in Scotland. It was nothing major, but was quite a jarring twist and at the time I felt it through my whole body, particularly the ankle and knee. After a few minutes I was fine and I walked off the mountain no problem.

The next couple of days though it swelled up and was pretty painful for a while. So I just rested it. I’ve twisted ankles before and it’s never lasted more than a few days or so, but four weeks later and, whilst it’s definitely getting better, I’m still a long way off having full range of motion without pain.

Strangely, both my knees ache after sitting still for a while (something I’ve never had before). Also, the calf tendon and shin above the bad ankle constantly feels like it’s had a massive workout the day before, when I’ve done very little on it apart from casual walks around the park and one box step session a few days ago.

Anyone any thoughts on a good way to proceed? Any physio or light training anyone would recommend? Or is it just a matter of continuing to take it easy until the pain goes away? I’m slowly eating into the first weeks of my potential training with doing very little, which is a little frustrating.

Any advice much appreciated! Thanks, Andy

Posted In: Injury & Rehab

Thomas Summer, MD on #40667

Hi Andy!

Do you know how the injury exactly happened? Where was/is the pain? Where was/is the swelling? You are probably still limping?!
    “winter climbing in Scotland” sounds tough! But being injured is even tougher. Anyway, don’t worry, we will help;-)

cheers!
    Thomas

Participant
    andystart on #40674

Thanks for your response Thomas, much appreciated!