Accounting for work in training stress calculations

• Creator
    Topic
    tomtolley
    Participant

I’m intrigued to know what the consensus here is on accounting for work loads in planning training and recovery, for those of us who do more or less physical work.

I work as a surgeon, so I’m standing all day, walking around the hospital constantly etc. A days work doesn’t feel like training , but I do finish it feeling tired, legs a bit sore, etc.

I got curious and measured my heart rate throughout the day before putting it on training peaks. Using Hr TSS, my standard 10 hour workday came out to 260TSS. Now clearly that’s not quite accurate in a training sense or NHS surgeons would be more represented in the ranks of world class alpinists. However there’s obviously some fatigue from work to take account of in planning training loads- I wondered if anyone else has a perspective on this?

• Participant
    hafjell on #13721

Will let the experts chime in, but I suspect your job will be a hindrance to training, not an enhancement. Since you’re training, presumably, for an event which requires constant movement up and downhill, your work is likely just draining you. Make sure to be honest with yourself when you need extra rest.

Participant
    tomtolley on #13723

I fear you’re right about that- lots of fatigue from work without much adaptation.

I’ve certainly been guilty of resting too little after long runs of work before- which is what partly gave me the idea of trying to quantify work fatigue to plan around it.

Inactive
    Anonymous on #13738

@tomtolley: Excellent question.

I’ve often thought that Training Peaks should allow for a new activity in the app: Life Stress. It’d be great if you could roughly add a Stress Score for non-training daily activities that would affect the fatigue numbers without being included in the calculation for Chronic Training Load. (And abandoning the notion that CTL represents fitness would be a bonus too.)