Skimo muscular endurance- specificty

• Creator
    Topic
    #skiuphill
    Participant

Hey!

First off. Great site you got here, it was truly a need for this kind of high quality, specifc type of database and community. Salut!

I have been training structured for three years now, and followed the guidelines of TFTNA regarding aerobic trainng. But been slacking a bit on the strength, except core, which ive done a lot. And two short cycles of max strength.

But i`ve been slacking on the structured water carrying..

Im climber and wannabe skimo racer, but really use the race weight gear to train for alpine, do long, fun traverses etc. The goals for the season is one race on the 22th of April 1600-2000 pending on conditions. est time 2-2.5 hours and one 10 000meter 120 km ski traverse in one push estimated time 15th of may. The latter one is by far the primary goal.

What I’m wondering is, when and how to fit in ME workouts and whether to do them on skis or on foot. If skis, is heavier skis good for also training the pull muscles?)

I`ve been building up to this plan for the last three years. And this is what a base week might look like this:

Based on an ATP from TrainingPeaks and your structure from TFTNA adding some more intensity work to be faster for racing.

1. 30-60min continuous zone 3
    2, Hangboard + strength in therapy master in the moring and 3-6hour zone 1 67-73% HRmax
    3, LSD indoors climbing 30-60 min 1-2 hour fasted zone 1
    4. rest, stretch, active recovery (zone 0-1 work, magnesium sulfate bath, foam rolling etc)
    5. 30-60min shorter intervals in zone 3/4
    6, Hangboard in the moring and 3-6hour zone 1 67-73% Herman
    7, LSD indoors climbing 30-60 min 1-2 hour fasted zone 1

Base2 week

I have very few responsibilitys and focus most of my energy on being out in the mountains.

Thanks!

Posted In: Skimo-racing

Luke Nelson on #3828

Vegarye,