How low is reasonable for AeT?

• Creator
    Topic
    johnnylo245
    Participant

Hello UA!

I am relatively new to endurance training. I grew up doing (probably) a lot of anaerobic training for team sports like Soccer and Lacrosse and I am fairly confident that I am aerobically deficient despite a couple years of consistent ski touring and ski mountaineering.

I have been trying to get a value for my AeT using the heart rate drift test. The first time I ran for an hour on a flat road at a heart rate of 120 BPM and received and PA:HR of 12% from Training Peaks. This made sense because I was breathing relatively heavily out of my mouth. I recently tried the test again at a HR of 110 BPM and received a PA:HR of 13%… I am confused because jogging at 110 felt pretty easy and at times I felt like I was barely breathing.

Should I be suspicious of these results? Or is it entirely reasonable for a newbie to have an AeT somewhere below 110 BPM? Should I just keep jumping down in HR until I get to that 5% mark…?

By the way, I am using a chest strap heart rate monitor (garmin-dual) so I am fairly confident in the accuracy of my HR data.

Thanks in advance!!

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #22723

That’s impossible to answer. Heart rates are like fingerprints; they’re unique to the person and irrelevant for everyone else.

One person’s AeT may be 110, and another’s may be 180. Someone who starts at 110 probably has a lower maximum and will never be able to get to 180. But absolute heart rates have nothing to do with fitness, so how high a heart rate is at a given intensity doesn’t mean much. An athlete’s changes in heart rate relative to their own history are what’s important.

However, based on your description of the effort relative to the pace and PA:HR, it does sound like you have ADS.

You could try another test at a lower heart rate (even if you have to walk). Or you could do a treadmill test at a constant speed and manually calculate the PA:HR. To do so: