Guidance on Hypertrophy Stage for young athlete

• Creator
    Topic
    Joseph Dale
    Participant

Would someone be able to give me some guidance on what exercises to incorporate into a hypertrophy training phase to build upper body muscle?

I’m pretty sure I am part of the group that UA talk about who are new to training & young to need to build muscle mass as I simply don’t have enough muscle fibres to convert into long term strength. For example, I can’t do a single pullup, but I am new to training (I’m 21, 6ft2 and 75kg slim).

Guidance on the frequency of training and how to know when to stop and begin a standard strength training routine would be great too! For context, I’m looking to train for climbing right now with Alpinism as a longer-term goal.

Thanks

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #43721

Joseph:

Thanks for writing in with your question. I’d recommend focusing on gaining STRENGTH and not muscle mass. A max strength based approach should see you able to improve your pull ups. A mass gaining approach is less likely to do that. Adding mass will mean that you have a heavier body to pull up to the bar. So you will have to gain more strength than you add in mass.

Look at the best rock climbers who have very high levels of pulling strength and they are all quite lightly muscled and lean. Contrast that with an NFL lineman who have lots of mass and many can’t do a pull either.

Getting past the first pull up is the hardest part. The way we usually help folks with that is by having them get on a stool to get their chin above the bar as a starting position. Step off the stool and hold this top position for a count of 3 if you can and then slowly lower to a count of 5. Repeat this 4-6 times with a one minute rest between each rep. Do this 2x/week. Time under tension is a great strength stimulus. You may gain some muscle mass in the process but that will be a side effect of the strength.

Scott

Participant
    Joseph Dale on #43722

Makes sense! Thanks Scott.