Calf Pain – Persistent. Solutions?

• Creator
    Topic
    AshRick
    Participant

Hi All,
    I’ve got some experience in multisport. I focused on long-course triathlon for a decade, ending about five years ago. Virtually all of my run training over the years have been in that effort, and now I’m turning to ultra and mountain running.

Throughout my triathlon years and continuing now, I have sore calves. Always. Every day. Whether I run a lot or a little. I have been running a steady 25-35 miles/week for a year, and upped it to 45 and 50 over the past two months. My calves are sore on non running days. On short, recovery days. On uphill days. Long runs. Flat runs. Always sore. It never goes away.

Sore right in the belly of the muscle. Not the Achilles. Muscle pain.

I stretch. I do eccentric strength exercises. Tried just about everything.

My calves feel, every day, like they should if I haven’t been running and went out and ran. DMOS. All the time. Did I say that already? 😉

Any suggestions? It’s kind of maddening. Compression sleeves?

Thanks for reading…

Posted In: Injury & Rehab

• Participant
    AshRick on #50585

Add…My running form is, according to coaches at clinics over the years, well within normal styles. I have a mainly midfoot strike, with a light heel-first contact that rolls onto my midfoot. So…I’m not running on my toes or anything. I’m careful to keep my heel on the ground when running and walking uphill.

Participant
    Rachel on #50593

Have you tried taking some time off completely from running (and calf strengthening, stretching, etc., just leave them alone) to see if your calves feel better? Like maybe a week off or even just a few days to see if that does the trick?

PS I moved this to the injury forum so the UA PT can chime in!

Participant
    AshRick on #50597

Rachel — yes. I’ve had week off, month off, etc. Any amount of returning to running…sore calves.