Where's the black hole?

• Creator
    Topic
    davelockyer101
    Participant

Having read and enjoyed TFtUA I’m seeking to apply the principles into my training (for hilly trail running). My background is a few years of running with blocks at MAF heart rate. I’ve now tested my AeT and found it’s a lot higher than my MAF HR and that my LT is actually not a great deal higher than my AeT (maybe 5bpm). In a lot of the material I’ve read before there’s often the message that you need to avoid what has been referred to as the ‘black hole’ which often refers to zone 2. My question is that with an AeT near to the LT where is the ‘black hole’ and is there a zone that is to be avoided?

• Participant
    briguy on #28385

I’m interested in this too. Joe Friel calls this zone the “happy hard” zone that most recreational runners/cyclists spend most of their time. Especially when running in social groups. They feel like they accomplished something because they went “hard” but it really wasn’t hard enough to make substantial gains, yet certainly not easy enough to serve as recovery for other truly-hard days.

There are lots of proponents of this poloarized methodology (like 80/20 etc) with almost all of them having a middle zone that is generally avoided (with exceptions).

Inactive
    Anonymous on #28402

“Happy hard”! I hadn’t heard that before, but it’s perfect.

First, definitions: The “junk zone”, the “black hole”, etc in a five-zone system is Zone 3. The zone label may vary, so the thing to keep in mind is that it’s an intensity that is bracketed by the aerobic and anaerobic thresholds.