The Diamond via Casual Route — Trip & Training Report

• Creator
    Topic
    Chris R
    Participant

Hi all,

I’ve really enjoyed reading about everyone else’s training and objectives here on the forum, so I wanted to share some info about my recent climb and my training for it.

I started rock climbing a while ago but took a long break from it in recent years (new job, moved to another country, new kid, etc). Last year I decided to get back into it. I did my first guided alpine climb in RMNP last summer and then Kiener’s Route on Long’s Peak in October as my first really long alpine day (14 hours car to car in wintry conditions, it was tiring but awesome!).

At that point I was hooked and decided to train to attempt a guided climb of the Casual Route on the Diamond on Long’s Peak in RMNP this summer. I wanted to make sure it felt reasonably comfortable and not an epic so I started training with a TFNA plan last December and then some help from Steve to customize to work with being both in the city and fairly time constrained. At that point I was only able to follow/onsight up to old-school 5.9, so I had to both improve my technical skills by a grade, and then have enough endurance to do this at 14,000 feet: the Casual Route crux is the last pitch, right after a squeeze chimney! Oh, and I live at roughly sea level, in NYC…

The Diamond

I headed to Boulder at the end of August for a week of climbing with my guide Zach Lovell (huge thank you to him, and he also took all the photos!). Earlier in the week we climbed some classics in Eldo (Yellow Spur, Green Spur, first 2 pitches of Rincon, Five-Ten Crack, Gambit) and did a fast alpine warmup on Hallett Peak (Great Dihedral route, watched eclipse from the summit!).

Green Spur
    Rincon

For the Diamond, the weather had been somewhat rainy all week, but Friday turned out great. We hiked in the day before and bivied in a boulder cave, with the usual other bivy spots already taken.

Cave