Muscular Endurance budgeting

• Creator
    Topic
    GS09
    Participant

Over the last few months I’ve been following the training philosophy mentioned in TftUA and have put in decent time in to maximise my aerobic base for my cycling and have seen pleasant results with my Z2 becoming more capable. I have an ultra-endurance hill climb race which I am interested to participate which involves climbing a total of 4000m across 4 different climbs in a day. I’d like to put my current fitness to test and inject a dose of Muscular Endurance over my current aerobic fitness and see how I fare and get some experience out of this. My question is regarding periodising this ME block most effectively.

Now, I am fairly new to ME workouts. Hence I chose to spread this across 12 weeks leading up to the race instead of the recommended 8 weeks. I will be doing the ME workouts on a hill with very similar gradient to that of the race and instead of adding weight I’ll be pushing heavy gears at around 55-60rpm and the idea is to accumulate increasing % of vertical gains in these ME workouts with the last one being around 80% of the target (ie 3200m in my last ME session). Does that make sense?

Now as to progression of these ME sessions, I did stumble upon posts on the forum and in the book that you want to start with half of your target total vertical but I believe that was for the biggest gain of a multi day race. Since my race involves just one big day and I will be doing this for the first time, I am planning to start the first ME session targeting 20% of total race elevation gain and the last session covering 80%. Sounds fine?

Here’s my breakdown for the 12 ME sessions:

ME #1 – 20% of total race vertical
    ME #2 – 30%
    ME #3 – 40%
    ME 4(Recovery week) – 20%(half of the 3rd week)

ME 5 – 40%
    ME 6 – 50%
    ME 7 – 60%
    Recovery week – 30%

ME 9 – 60%
    ME 10 – 70%
    ME 11 – 80%
    Recovery week – 50%; with the event on the following weekend