Moved: Mixing Guiding and Training

• Creator
    Topic
    NateGoodwin
    Participant

I would be curious to hear what Scott and Steve’s training strategy was for Steve before his larger Himalayan objectives, being that he is a guide and has been one for quite some time. It seems that he was able to balance training with enough guiding work to financially support expeditions/himself. Was guiding incorporated into the training? Did they vary the type of guiding to fit into the training cycle i.e. ski guiding for base fitness, ice and rock for more specific?
    Over last summer break I worked as a guide on Mount Rainier and did feel the mega fatigue that comes from this type of work. However, after about a month of constant work I felt my base fitness improving and by the end of the summer my AET was the highest its ever been. I maintained and improved this base fitness over fall semester, then climbed in the Chalten and Torre Massifs over winter break and felt unstoppable, even after some of the biggest and longest days I had ever done. So, in my experience guiding and physical jobs can be used as a convenient, low intensity training stimulus, however I also have youth on my side and took awhile off of guiding to do more specific training before the trip.
    In the future, I can see myself changing up the type of guiding to provide the correct training stimulus i.e. working on rainier and north cascades for base then ice and rock guiding to provide more specific training. But how do guides set themselves up to avoid the plateau that Scott talks about?

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #8641

Nate:

I’ve moved your query to a new topic since I think its warrants its own thread. Thanks Scott S for brining this to my attention. Things can get lost on the forum if they get pushed too far down in a discussion, but that why SS makes the big $$.

This is a question we get a lot from guides and it is a tough thing to answer in general but here goes: