HRV for Determining Aerobic Threshold

• Participant
    nullkru on #55968

follow

Participant
    LindsayTroy on #55970

So I am a PhD scientist (mathematical epidemiology) so I am used to reading papers, but I am not an exercise physiologist. Here are my thoughts:

The average VT1 GAS was 39.8 ml/kg/min (±8.9) compared to 40.1 ml/kg/min (±8.6) obtained by HRVT. The average HR at VT1 GAS was 152 bpm (±21) compared to 154 bpm (±20) obtained by HRVT. … Intraclass correlation between VT1 GAS and HRVT was 0.99 for VO2 and 0.96 for HR. The comparison of VT1 GAS and HRVT showed no differences (VO2: p = 0.347, d = 0.030; HR: p = 0.191, d = 0.091).

This is an incredibly strong correlation and unlikely to occur due to chance.

LIMITATIONS:

Seventeen male volunteers aged 19–52, without previous medical history, current medications or physical issues were tested.

The authors state pretty clearly my issue with this, and TBH, I’m surprised they were given IRB approval to do a study on only men, in medicine, this study would not get approved…

Although this study was done with a wide range of subject age and fitness characteristics, no female participants were tested. If the DFA a1 index behavior is to be considered as a zone 1 delimiter for the general population, further investigation using female subjects is mandatory.

Also, 17 participants is a very small sample size.

Participants did not consume caffeine, alcohol or any stimulant for the 24 h before testing.

I dont know enough about exercise physiology to know if this would be a problem, but I would assume that caffeine would impact the heart…