Absolute beginner / ADS

• Creator
    Topic
    emilyd
    Participant

I’m a 16yo who’s not very fit with a low AeT and I’m almost certain I have ADS although I can’t get lab testing. I’ve made a plan using the book and log but I just wanted to ask a couple of questions. Firstly, I’m finding it really hard to stay in zone 1 for my (still quite short) long training sessions – running slowly is far too fast and walking briskly is a bit too slow. Should I just keep walking, or do walk/run intervals to keep my HR in the right zone? When can I expect to see an improvement?
    Also, does a starting volume of 90 minutes of cardio a week sound good? I know that’s a tiny amount but I’ve never really trained and I just don’t really know what’s right.
    Sorry if these questions have been asked before and thanks!

• Participant
    vik.waghray on #15803

First off, remember that you want to stay at or below your AeT, which is the upper bound of zone 2. Based on my experience it’s helpful to sustain a slow-moderate pace that keeps you in zone 1/2 depending on the terrain (I run flats but sometimes have to hike/walk up hills during AeT workouts).

As for the volume, you’re going to need to increase that number to at least a few hours per week to start and then gradually up the volume as you adjust to the training load. The only way you’ll see real gains is from consistently doing a high volume of AeT work especially if you think you have ADS—as Scott J, Scott S, and Steve have all discussed in their articles. Generally speaking, it’s hard to put a number on training hours as it is quite dependent on your goal/objective.

Lastly, I couldn’t help but link Scott’s deconstruction of the word ‘cardio’ as it relates to endurance training – https://uphillathlete.com/dont-call-it-cardio/

Good luck!

Participant
    emilyd on #15805