Recovery

• Creator
    Topic
    tfmullen.2
    Participant

Hi, I have a question about recovery, I have been training consistently for the last 4 months and increasing mileage. I’ve been mixing hiking and running all in the mountains. I am feeling tired and think I need to take 5 to 7 days off. Is this ok, and do you guys recommend a way to achieve a good recovery?

tom

• Participant
    tfmullen.2 on #41784

I should add I’ve been averaging 100 miles per month 6 to 10 mile runs with 4 to 5 mile hikes with 28 to 50 lbs. Average is 600 ft elevation gain on the runs and 1500 on the hikes. Its almost impossible to stop. Yesterday I went out to do a 6 mile run and I stopped 2 miles out and walked back that never happens but I wasn’t feeling it. Let me also say that I’ve been trail running for 7 years and I got the New Alpinism, great book, I’ve pushed harder than ever last 4 months.
    I have to say I’m ready to hit the trail right now.

Participant
    Shashi on #41790

Tom,

My training volume is lower than yours, but just an observation based on what I have read so far and the training plan I am following.

In the last four months, did you have a recovery week every 2-3 weeks?

If not, maybe this post might be helpful –

How to schedule the recovery week

Participant
    tfmullen.2 on #41792

No, I haven’t had a recovery week during the 4 months, but I appreciate the good information.

Inactive
    Anonymous on #41794

Hi Tom,

Shashi offers the best first step – stop and rest! Cycling through rest blocks (dropping volume 30-50% from a normal build week) is an easy way to buffer against long-term fatigue build-up every few weeks. When in the rest week you may feel initially that the fatigue is increasing, but often that is a result of the body shifting into an “adaptation” mode – taking the work you’ve put into it and working to compensate and get stronger for it.