Poor Vo2 Max, damaged ego

• Creator
    Topic
    mustache_alpinism
    Participant

Hey All,

I am a 29yo M, in relatively good fitness (My “Alpine Combine” results would be excellent for 1000′ with 20% of BW pack, and excellent or good for the rest of the tests). I can routinely do ski tours with 4-7K vert, climb pumpy gym routes, but have cut running + biking completely from my training schedule. I maybe spend about 1.5 hours in my zone 1, 1 hour in zone 2 and maybe 30 min in zone 3, climb in gym 2-3x, and do 1 ski tour, in an average week. I have no serious objectives until May, so I am just maintaining right now.

I have been using tftna for many years and decided to get a professional V02 max treadmill + o2 mask test done recently. I keep a loose eye on my VO2 max via my apple watch, and always get a range from 52-57, which it estimates from nordic skiing, alpine touring, and doing stair-master. I know this is just an estimate.

I was fairly shocked when I got the result that my max score was 34, anerobic threshold 30. I fully admit that I devote a fair portion of my life to training and my ego was hurt to see such a low assessment of my progress. I am pretty sure the test was administered correctly. I also smoked cigarettes on/off from years from 22-28, and drank heavily. Sober now 🙂

Considering that before this, my training had been going smoothly (hitting major goals, overall aerobic base has improved on paper, had a successful past season), my questions are:
    * Should I add intensity/aerobic specific stuff (like running) to specifically target improving Vo2?
    * Is the score so concerning I should I go to a doctor to get checked out?
    * Any other thoughts/ideas from the uphill athlete community? Have others experienced such discrepancies in test results?
    * Other people who have cleaned up their life care to share their experiences?

Thanks for listening!

-Mustache

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.