Links from Q+A session- February 5, 2023

• Participant
    George on #75402

Forget about phone HRV apps. There is no need to invest a 1000 $ for the top of the line Garmin Fenix 6X pro solar with chest strap. I bought my girlfriend a much cheaper Garmin Venu for 150 $ without chest strap and it has almost the same capabilities and software as its bigger brother. Including an oximeter and alarm function in case of a fall. And if you are consistently wearing and using it the software knows for years how you trained and how you slept. No need for manual input. And if you are not prepared to invest in such a technology then why did invest in the Mountain Training Group a bigger amount? The UH site and the 7-hour video tutorial will give you more info to start with. And the coaches can not help you if your metrics is wrong.

I have been using for 20 years top-of-the-line Suunto watches and I miss the real-time EPOC calculation on which the Training Effect is based. But Garmin is superior in regard to software integration. Both use in the background the Fisrtbeat algorithms for HRV analysis developed by a Finnish institute. Hope my advice helps!

Chantelle Robitaille on #75406

There are many different metrics we can collect with any number of gadgets- but it’s also helpful to know how that data is sourced, how it’s been validated (how reliable the data is), and how to use that data. We will get into more Training Peaks metrics and data in a future lesson for those that would like to dive into that a little more. It’s also important to really pay attention to how you feel- before, during, and after workouts and to track that information for yourself over time as well. There isn’t any one specific number that will tell you are tired, fit, ready, improving/not improving, etc. rather it is looking at your individual and overall information and data over time.