Transition period: balancing volume restraints with normal outdoor activities

• Creator
    Topic
    jesse
    Participant

Hey everyone,

I’m very new to the Uphill Athlete style of training — I picked up TftNA a couple months ago, and I’m currently in the third week of my transition period. I’m attempting the standard DC route on Rainier this August, so I’m doing 8 weeks of transition + 8 weeks of base training as the book recommends for people training for a climbing objective that’s sooner than would be ideal.

What I’m struggling with is how to balance the prescribed transition period training program while also doing some of my usual weekend hikes/scrambles/etc. The recommendation in the book is to do one long Zone 1 workout that makes up 25% of the weekly volume — I wasn’t sure what my volume was last year, so I went with the 250hr estimate from the book. After some slightly generous rounding up, that gives me ~3hrs/week of outdoor time. 25% of that is 40 minutes, which isn’t enough to do much in the way of hiking, especially since I have to go suuuper slow to stay in Zone 1 (guess that means it’s a good thing I found this book!).

Anyone have suggestions for how to still do some of your usual outdoor activities during the transition period while not deviating hugely from the program? Maybe the answer is just to suck it up for another 5 weeks, and if so, that’s fine — just curious to hear other people’s experiences with this.

Thanks!
    Jesse

• Participant
    jakedev on #54180

Hi Jesse