Remedy against Posterior Tibial tendonitis symptomes

• Creator
    Topic
    trygve.veslum
    Participant

Hi,
    Ive been feeling some slight pain (feels almost like needling) in the transition area on the inside between my ankle/calf transition the last couple of weeks and I strongly suspect Posterior Tibial tendonitis. Im not a doctor so of course take it with a grain of salt. Id say my foot arch is pretty average but in conjunction with a stress fracture earlier in a phalang in my other foot the doctor claimed I had very tight calf muscles. (Actually to a point considering to do surgery to lengthen the muscles). All my running is done forefoot, but I might be cheating on my foot placements when using my most plushy shoes.

Do you have any advice on what to do and what NOT to do going forward in order to recover as quickly as possible?
    As lessons learnt, how to prevent this sort of trouble in the future? Ive been reading a few non-scientific, anecdotal articles claiming that barefoot running or use of minimalist shoes may have a preventive effect.

Using the search function I could only find posts on tibialis anterior.

Thanks in advance for any response.

Best regards,
    Trygve

Posted In: Injury & Rehab

• Participant
    Rachel on #48354

I’ve been dealing with shin splints on only my right leg (they are on the inside but I think they might be anterior shin splints, I’m not totally sure).

I’m doing this exercise I read about that is helping: Gizmodo’s shin splint exercise

At the same time I know something is off with my biomechanics. I’m working on my running form in general, and also improving my toe/foot strength and improving my hip internal rotation range of motion (I have really poor control of my toes it turns out, and not enough internal hip rotation). That stuff I learned about from the FootFunction Reddit group which I’ve found to be a great source of information.