Planning a break/reduction in Training

• Creator
    Topic
    briguy
    Participant

I’ve been finding myself less interested in hard training for a few months now. I’m at the end of another training cycle and planning a break for a period of time. I’m a mountain/ultra runner and I’ve been at 10-15 hours a week of training for at least 20 months with only 1-2 week reductions here and there as I recover or taper for events. There have been a few weeks when I have been well above that 15 hour total as well.

Besides being “less interested” (which is telling) I find myself drawn to doing some home improvement projects and other “fun” things but I’m simply too tired to have much enthusiasm for when in hard training cycles. So I’m looking for advice in how to schedule an “off season” for a bit to rejuvenate myself and allow me to satisfy that urge to take on some other projects.

With only one event on the calendar the rest of the year (a 30K mountain run in mid-September with extreme elevation gain/loss that will likely take me in the 4 hour range to finish), I’m trying to plan out a schedule that will allow me to have that off-season period but also give enough time to ramp back up to do well in that race.

So the main questions I’m looking for suggestions are:

– what kind of reduction in training is good enough to maintain a base?
    – what training plan duration will be sufficient to get back in good shape by that mid-september event? I’m used to 12-15 week plans for my usual training events

I really want to bounce back and get interested in training again but I definitely need a break. So I appreciate any guidance on this!

• Participant
    russes011 on #52339