Increasing volume

• Creator
    Topic
    sambedell
    Participant

I’ve followed the TFTNA concepts for 2 training cycles (with a big break due to an injury in between). On the last cycle I was increasing volume by 10% each week and taking a down week around 60-70% every 4th week.

This worked until I reached a certain volume and then I would go two weeks at higher volume and start to feel really run-down and start to get sick so I would take a down week early. Every time I tried to ramp up I would encounter this problem. I am now in the middle of a third training cycle and am having the same issue. I don’t feel like I’m over-training, definitely feeling fresh and energetic on most workouts, but moderately tired in-between.

Some background: I’m a middle school teacher (bacterial load can be high). I ran competitively in college (xc and track) and did higher volume with more intensity back then but less strength training. I had my doctor do a couple blood test batteries and everything came back normal (urea, glucose and globulin were a little high). I am sleeping and eating plenty/healthy (tons of fruits and vegetables). Taking vitamin D and melatonin for sleep.

My questions: Does this mean that I’ve found a reasonable ceiling for my volume? If not, what are some ways that I can push my volume past this?

My goals are big alpine routes during summer break. I climbed Waddington last summer. This summer the plan is to focus on harder alpine rock but would like to be in position for the Cassin in 2018.

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #4058

Sam;
    Good question. Based on everything you have said above I would tend to agree that you have reached a temporary plateau in training load. Here are some suggestions to help you get through this period without having to resort to quitting your teaching job or wearing a Hazmat suit in class,