Advice on home blood lactate test (Lactate Pro 2)

• Creator
    Topic
    PeteDub
    Participant

Hi Folks,

Hope you are all keeping well.

I completed my first blood lactate test today using the Lactate Pro 2 based on the recommendations in Training for the Uphill Athlete and this forum. I got some unexpected results which makes me think that I didn’t complete the test correctly. I was hoping that maybe somebody could give me some advice on the results?

I used to cycle but I was involved in a accident so I started running in the late last year (haven’t been running for very long). I’ve been focusing on Z2 training for about 5 months now but I had ADS when I first started so I’m still on the slow side.

Details of the test are as follows:
    I’m 44 year old
    I had assistance with the test (brother) to take the samples
    Treadmill set to 5% incline with 10 min warmup
    Increased my speed by 0.5km every 5 min (to give enough time to reach equilibrium between tests)
    My resting lactate was 1.8 mMol/L
    Graph Pic attached and details of results below

Observations from the test:
    I didn’t feel great today and my HR raised a lot quicker then normal, not sure of this was white coat syndrome
    Felt my resting lactate was higher then I expected, would 1.8 be normal for resting? It was morning time and I was fasted
    Don’t think i warmed up enough on started testing too quickly?

I’m not sure if these results look correct for working out my current AeT? My HR usually wouldn’t raise this fast day to day so not sure if this is reliable data. I seemed to drop to 2mMol at around 145bmp but I was on the high side before then?

Any recommendations/advice would be greatly appreciated.

T/Min Speed HR BLC
    0 0 1.8
    10 6 119 2.5
    15 6.5 125 2.4
    20 7 130 2.3
    25 7.5 135 2.7
    30 8 141 2.5
    35 8.5 145 2
    40 9 150 1.9
    45 9.5 154 2.3
    50 10 156 3.6

Thanks and kind regards,
    Pete

Attachments: