Z1 running with ADS?

• Creator
    Topic
    jd.swainson
    Participant

Hey everyone, love these forums and the great info in here!

I’ve been training (semi-structured) for the last 14 months. My Aet is 150, and from a recent half marathon time trial (avg HR 180, 4min/km) I think it’s safe to say my Ant is above 180 (185ish).

Despite keeping all of my running in Z2 for the past 14 months, due to I think running too long on my long runs and not recovering well I ended up burning out and injured.

At that point I re-examined my training, took a few very easy weeks and am getting back into things slowly. My question is concerning how much volume should I do in Z2 vs Z1 – My Z2 pace is about 5:10min/km on flats and 6:15ish on moderately hilly terrain – while these runs feel pretty easy I’m afraid they could still be too hard to properly recover from? Does it make sense for me to continue pushing Z2 until my AeT increases? I find it hard to believe that it would get up within 10% of 185 or is it smarter to add in more Z1 and recovery work while increasing the mileage?

Any tips would be hugely appreciated, thanks!

Posted In: Mountain Running

• Participant
    PaulB on #52841

Yes, you can get within 10% of your AnT of 185 but it might take a while especially if only have limited training time each week (you didn’t mention your weekly training time). Continuous work, progressive building, and patience will get you there.

If you’re worried about burning out or getting injured you could try a 2:1 build:recovery structure. A “traditional” 3:1 gives 13 recovery weeks per year (assuming you train every single week) but a 2:1 gives 17 recovery weeks, so you get a full month of extra recovery each year.