What’s my problem

• Creator
    Topic
    rcj
    Participant

I have been training (triathlons at first, now mountaineering for the past two years) for around eight years in general, but only the past year did I begin using the principles lined out in TFtNA. I’m new to the program’s ideas, but not new to training. However, it wasn’t until October that I completely changed everything and since then have done nothing above my AeT, which I realized was quite a bit lower than I expected, so I’m definitely in ADS territory.

My typical week is about six hours of training: three runs of about an hour each, a couple 45 minute bike rides, and a couple weight sessions at home totaling about 90 minutes. What has really begun to frustrate me is that since that time (start of October), I have slowed and become less efficient in my runs and rides.

How typical is this? Granted, I’m only coming up on three months of exclusively below AeT workouts, but I would expect to stay the same or slightly improve. I seem to be going in the opposite direction. My rides are losing power at the same heart rate, and my runs are going from an EF in Training Peaks of, say 1.12, to 1.07 or even recently a 1.00 on the exact same route.

Am I doing something wrong?

• Participant
    willplayforfood on #60797

Just another member so take this with a grain of salt but it feels like more information might be needed.

1) How did you establish your AeT?
    2) Have you done retests along the way/recently and do you see any progress there?

Comparing performance at AeT over time would be what I would use to judge progress.

My mental picture of this is that your previous fitness developed a high degree of fitness above AeT over the course of years so you had developed some degree of efficiency when operating in that zone, but you only have a couple months focusing on similar development of AeT which might unsurprisingly be less efficient.