Using cycling to increase weekly aerobic volume when I’m a runner?

• Creator
    Topic
    therodlyons
    Participant

Hey there, I’m a former Z4/Z5 runner who ended up here doing lots of Crossfit/HIIT for years and contracted ADS. I’m slowly building up to 3 hours of Z2 a day but it’s quite hard for me to run that much at elevation and in the mountains so I end up mostly hiking and running the flats/downhill. I recently bought a smart trainer to get in additional aerobic volume but was wondering if that has the same effect as hiking/jogging periodically or if I’m just wasting my time? I track my HR quite religiously to ensure I’m hitting my AeT on the bike and I’d imagine the heart doesn’t care how you got it into that zone but I’m no expert so I figured I’d ask here.

Thanks!

• Participant
    Shashi on #53236

Welcome to the Uphill Athlete Forum –

Check this forum discussion –

Cycling as a mean to build AeT

Hope this helps.

Participant
    AshRick on #53239

From my years in multisport/triathlon, and my one year of ultra/mountain running, I think…

Cycling volume doesn’t really do much at all for flat-ground running. Been there. Tried it. Watched scores of other try it. People trying to cut running volume by riding more. Fails every time. Once you’re fit, they’re different sports and that’s that.

But…now that I have to do all this uphill work…I think cycling translates well to going uphill on foot. A very knowledgeable physiologist that’s well known in endurance sports agrees.

Running/hiking uphill uses the muscle through a range of motion as a motor pulling on levers. Running on flat ground uses the muscle as spring and a strut. Cycling is the former; not the latter.

Given that our events are on varied terrain, there’s another use for cycling. As a prep to a long run — “pre-fatigue.” I’ve done this the past two weekends. Ride about 45 minutes, with 30 of those minutes standing on the pedals uphill. Staying in Zn2.