Transitioning from skimo to mountain running with the Foote plan?

• Creator
    Topic
    yesisaidyes
    Participant

I have been using the advanced skimo training plan for a few years now with good results.
    My last skimo race for 2019 is on April 7. After that I am transitioning to trail running for the summer – I bought the Mike Foote 20 week plan to get some ideas for training but one thing I am struggling with is where I could link into the Foote plan.

My first “A” trail race is Broken Arrow 50K, which is about 10 weeks after the last skimo race (includes about 10k of climbing). So already halfway through the Foote plan.

At that point, I think I will be pretty solid on ME / general strength from a skimo perspective but obviously will want to start rebuilding base endurance for a 6-8 hour event (vs 1-2 hr). I guess I also need to look at runner-specific ME?

I realize the Foote plan may not work for an athlete who is also doing skimo as you can’t get into the plan for the full 20 weeks (if you are doing mid-summer races) but wanted to see if there were some general guidelines or principles I could borrow form it to kick off the running season as skimo ends and if I only have 10 weeks (vs the full 20?).

(Just to note, even during skimo season I run about 30-40 miles a week, with the long run being maybe 2-3 hours.)

Thanks
    Aaron

Posted In: Mountain Running

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #18107

Aaron;

Thanks for buying these plans. I hope the skimo plan has helped you with your training this season.

NOTE: If you have not started with Mike’s plan yet I suggest you reload the latest version. We are regularly tweaking/updating these plans to make them better.

Regarding your question about modifying it for mid-plan racing such as the Broken Arrow. Here are a few things to keep in mind.