Training without a heart rate monitor

• Creator
    Topic
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi folks. I’ve got a question/theme that I haven’t seen addressed here often: For a variety of personal and psychological reasons, I don’t want to use a heart rate monitor. I’ve been training in one way or another for over thirty years (I’m in my late forties), and I used a heart rate monitor a bunch when I was young, but I have no interest in that now. So I generally go by feel. This spring, my training is basically of two kinds: strength training, and hiking, with some walk/run thrown into the mix, as I recover from a variety of injuries. My plan is to basically keep all my hiking and walking/running to easy nose breathing and light mouth breathing. My goal is to stay firmly in zone 1-2 although one can’t resist occasionally pushing a little harder on a hill, for example, just because it feels good! Volume is about 4-6 hours per week right now, with some longer days every so often. Goal is some long mountain hikes and (slow) trail runs in the late spring, and alpine climbing in the summer. Major pitfalls of this approach? What am I really missing by not using a HR monitor? Is the greater danger going too consistently hard, or not hard enough? Recovery monitoring? And so on. Here’s a quick table about using ventilation to monitor intensity that I copied from TFTNA. Thanks!

Breaths not noticeable Recovery
    Easy nose breathing 1
    Labored nose breathing to deep breaths 2
    Controlled deep breaths to very deep breaths 3
    Uncontrolled deep breaths 4
    May hold breath 5

• Participant
    Shashi on #52174

Major pitfalls of this approach? What am I really missing by not using a HR monitor? Is the greater danger going too consistently hard, or not hard enough? Recovery monitoring?

You have been training for thirty years, so most likely you have a good sense of your training intensity zones and what it feels like.