Training While Guiding

• Creator
    Topic
    Jsims6752
    Participant

Hey all!

This might be a niche question, but I thought I would throw it out and see what experience there is.

Background: I work as a rock climbing, mountaineering, and backcountry ski instructor. The organization I work for (NOLS) runs these trips in roughly month-long blocks, meaning I will be out living on an expedition, camping and climbing every day for 30 days at a time. I currently work about 25 weeks in the field a year, with only a week or two between.

The cruel irony of these trips is I get to build a gigantic base of consistent long, steady work, but I often lose my “top end” strength and muscle mass. I think this is due to spending so much time below my personal training threshold. For example, I’ll go into the field consistently climbing in the 5.11 range, climb nothing but 5.6-5.8 for a month, then at the end climb a letter grade or two lower.

So my question is, how do I continue to have a structured training plan while A) having a physical job without overtraining, B) without having access to a gym or strength training equipment, and finally, C) should I track my day to day in training peaks?

• Participant
    Cory from Wisconsin on #71250

Steve was on a podcast a number of years back where he shared a personal story about getting overtrained due to not accounting for the workload of guiding. The whole podcast is interesting, but the relevant segment starts at 30:25. [post with link was blocked, so search for Mtn Meister Podcast #204 from March 2018]. Bottom line is guiding takes a toll on your body and the stress it introduces needs to be accounted for as part of your overall training plan.

I know Scott and others have often talked about this as well. See Scott’s UA podcast on overtraining. [This link was also blocked – search for the December 6th 2020 podcast called Talking Overtraining].