Training plans, Basic Fitness Test and Weight Loss

• Creator
    Topic
    ryanmcneil01
    Participant

Good Afternoon,

This is my first time posting here but have been lurking through the forum and have found a wealth of information but I do still have a few questions that I am hoping can be answered.

This year I have set a number of goals that will include ascending Toubkal in February 2019 and then hopefully Elbrus later in the year. Having read through a good part of The Training for New Alpinism book I am finding it hugely interesting. I have completed the Basic fitness test but want to confirm a number of points to ensure I am completing it correctly.

1. At the moment I am doing the Box Step 1000′ with 20% of BW pack instead of the 1000′ vertical ascent on terrain with my timing falling within the good area. This can be improved upon but then my confusion is with the box step further down. I am completing this in the same way as the first box step minus the pack and stepping both feet up on to the platform then both feet down and counting that as one step but reading the text above it says box jumps in sixty seconds. Now a box jump to me is both feet on the ground, jumping with both feet together and landing on the box before jumping back off. Should it be Box Steps or Box Jumps? If it is Box Jumps then I have a lot of improving to do.

2. I have been looking at the training plans and will be looking to purchase the 8 week mountaineering plan but at the moment I need to lose about 2.5 stone in body weight prior to Toubkal next year(Siitng at an office desk too long and not keeping on top of my fitness). Should I prioritise the weight lose before the Training plan? I was hoping that by purchasing the plan and following it that not only would I lose the weight but it would also improve my fitness for hillwalking in Scotland this summer. What are peoples thoughts on it? Weight lose first then training plan?