Total newb – need HR monitor suggestion

• Creator
    Topic
    Jill
    Participant

Hi!

I’m not new to training but new to Uphill Athlete and training for mountaineering.
    Realizing I need a chest strap HR monitor, what brand or model is good? I’ve looked on this forum and didn’t see anything specific and I’ve also read a lot of differing Amazon and REI reviews which has added to my confusion.

Most of my training is indoors except for a weekly flat hike at low elevation and a monthly or every 6 week more difficult hike at higher elevation (that I travel 8 hours to get to).

I’m training for my 1st climbs in Ecuador in December with a guide company.

Thanks for any info.

• Participant
    mzkarim on #42945

I have a Garmin Forerunner 735XT watch and a Garmin Premium HR monitor chest strap and they have worked well together for almost 2 years. The Garmin watch battery doesn’t last for more than 5-6 hours on GPS but, other than that, no complaints.

What mountains are you climbing in Ecuador and how many days?

Participant
    Jill on #42946

Thanks for the reply!

It’s a quick 9-day trip because of leaving my daughter at home and that’s as long as I want to be gone at this point.

I’ll be acclimatizing on Fuya Fuya and Imbabura with 1-2 snow school days in Antisana prior to attempting Cotopaxi on day 8. 🙂 Any experience there?

Fingers crossed that borders and travel are open!!

Participant
    mzkarim on #42947

I did a very similar itinerary in December, although my acclimitization hikes were on different mountains. I did 2 days of glacier training on Antisana and summitted Cotopaxi. Cotopaxi is not technical but steep and a beautiful climb! The scenery, including the crevasses, are stunning. You’ll enjoy it! I want to climb it again.

Participant
    trygve.veslum on #42949