Small AeT-AnT gap: Adapting to new intensity zones & Cash in for intensity?

• Creator
    Topic
    Amund
    Participant

Dear Uphill Athletes,

Since discovering Uphill Athlete two years ago, I have been a patient and cautious student of your training principles. I have found mountains of motivations and plains of wisdom in TftUA and frequently refer to it for guidance.

I am a 26-year-old male, who’s been running fairly consistently for three years (and skiing in winter). My main goal has been to increase my capacity for higher training volumes, and I am now comfortable with an average of around 6 hours per week (including an hour of roller skiing as cross-training). I have been conservative with regards to aerobic training and gone with the assumption that I haven’t been ready for intensity training. I started opening that door only this summer, by routinely adding intensity work.

Preparing for respectively one B, C, and A priority race this Autumn, I have had 7 weeks with ~10% of weekly volume as AeT/Z3 intervals (exclusively uphill, and some sessions averaging 30% steepness for ME). During spring and summer, my exercise was only sporadically in Z3.

This week, I finally got around to testing my AeT, and got the following from a lab lactate test (5 min bouts, 5% incline, speed in km/h):

#    | Speed | Lactate | HR
    4    | 8,5   | 1,1     | 154
    5    | 9     | 1,1     | 158
    6    | 9,5   | 1,2     | 161
    7    | 10    | 1,6     | 166
    8    | 10,5  | 1,6     | 170
    9    | 11    | 2,2     | 171
    10   | 11,5  | 3,3     | 176

(Also see graphs as attachments.)

I interpret this as an AeT at HR 171 and AnT at HR 176. The AnT also fits with previous field tests. Notably, this gives me a 3% gap for the 10 Percent Test! A pleasant surprise, indeed, but puts me in uncharted territory.