Should TSB determine training load?

• Creator
    Topic
    SFmike
    Participant

Greetings, TFTNA amigos.

I’ve been using TrainingPeaks for about 6 months and started by backfilling all my earlier workouts from the TFTNA spreadsheet in order to have a reasonable set of starting metrics. My question is: How do I optimally balance my TSS and TSB and yet continue to gain fitness at a reasonable pace? I understand how it works…as I perform workouts (TSS) I gain fitness (CTL) but I experience fatigue (ATL) and this results in a sort of “readiness” for my next workout (TSB). For the first 6 months, the CTL metric was my main focus and, of course, I loved watching it improve. But after a post-Chamonix layoff and recent restart to training I’m paying much closer attention to TSB and comparing that to how I “feel” after and before workouts. This new focus on TSB has led me to reduce my training load in order to keep it near zero at all times. So, back to the earlier question: am I too focused on TSB, or is this just the price of admission for long-term fitness and I have to accept the much slower/gradual CTL improvement? Or, is there a better way?

Overall, I’m pleased with the previous cycle of training and I performed well in Chamonix this year (relative to previous climbs).

Apologies if this answer already lives on the site – I searched a bit and didn’t find any discussion.

Thanks in advance for any input!

Mike

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #6630

Hey SFmike,

Good question. I’ve found the Training Peaks metrics to be very helpful, but it’s taken me a long time and many mistakes to figure out how they apply to me. It’s good that you’re asking these questions right away.

Here are some thoughts: