Red Bull 400

• Creator
    Topic
    Steve B
    Participant

Has anyone here done or trained for the Red Bull 400 (link below)?

I did it last year in about 6:30 or so. I’d like to be under 6 minutes or even 5:30 this year. Last year I was generally fit, but didn’t do a ton of specific training. A lot of cycling for my aerobic base (I suspect my HR was too high much of the time). Didn’t discover UPA site (currently reading the book) until the last few months. Lifelong swimmer turned landlubber in the last few years via nordic skiing and cycling.

Thinking a lot of Z2 work as suggested in the book, plenty of ME (non existent last year…tried some weighted hill walks, but I don’t think I did them correctly) and adding tabata’s. Last year my max HR during the event was 197, and my HR was between 185-197 the entire race.

Thanks

https://www.redbull.com/us-en/events/rb400-park-city

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #39339

Hi Steve,

I haven’t done a RB400 but they look rad… My background is in Nordic ski sprint racing, which involves a 3-5min effort done several times over the course of a morning, not terribly dissimilar to the 400. Scott Johnston coached me through my whole career so the training we did then aligns directly with what you’ll find in the UA books.

These events are very aerobic in that they require a high endurance base, but still require a very strong anaerobic capacity and muscular endurance to sustain the required high output. You’re spot-on to be prioritizing a lot of Z2 work as a foundation for the objective.

Other than the early base period I wouldn’t do too much weighted uphill work because it quickly becomes quite non-specific given the added pack weight and the necessarily slow speed at which you’re moving (as compared to race pace).