Question about determining AeT and AnT

• Creator
    Topic
    Chrisleembhc
    Participant

First post didn’t work so reposting………

Just starting out and want to get it right….

According to the MAF (Maximum Aerobic Function) Formula 180 – age = AeT
    Therefore, I would be 180 – 51 = 129 AeT

I’ve been working out pretty hard and steady for a couple years with running 3x a week. My 10 mile average bpm at full speed is 156, so I figure this is my AnT. So I’m trying to figure out the 10% TEST.

Here’s my QUESTION: the MAF predicts me to be 129 AeT. However, this week I ran 10 miles 3x with 100% nose breathing, no over exertion, felt fantastic and my average bpm was 144. Should I use the 129 or 144 as AeT cuz this drastically affects the 10% TEST?

Thanks,

Chris
    Vermont

• Participant
    llaurent2006 on #71413

Hi Chris,

I’m 51 and I had the same kind of discrepency. In the Book Training for Uphill Athlete, I beleive they mention that MAF often underestimate the AeT for decently train. I had the same experience as you did where my MAF HR is 129 while I gelt it xas cmoser to 142 when running. I did a gas exchange lab test focusing on measuring AeT vs VO2max and came out with 144 bpm. This is also consitent with my Pa:Hr <2%. For me nose breathing is not a good indicator as I have trained nose breathing and can nose breath doing interval thesholds. Hope that helps. LAURENT

Participant
    Student on #71423

Maybe try the heart rate decoupling test? You can find the details on this site. In short you run on a track or flat terrain for an hour at a steady pace. Record your heart rate with a chest strap and see if the second half of the run has an average more than 5% compared with the first half. If you are right at the 5%, that is your Ae limit. Details can be found on the site:

Heart Rate Drift: A Functional Measure of Aerobic Fitness

Good luck!

Participant
    slowandsteady on #71757