Personal best at mountain trail race. Quads are still in pain..

• Creator
    Topic
    exarchoste
    Participant

Hello

First of all i would like to thank everyone for the advice i got on this forum.

Three days ago On Sunday i did a 22km mountain race with 1650m+ of elevation at the foothills of mount Olympus in Greece. I started training in August and my training was based on the TFTUA book.

I Managed to achieve my goal which was to first to break my previous time in 2017 that was 03:52. I managed to finish in 03:16 !So i believe 35min faster is an improvement. I’m happy with that. This was the third time i had run this race the first being in 2016. My time then when 03:58.

I first followed a pre-base program in August and then i started a base program incorporating muscle endurance workouts(indoor, outdoor). I then moved to zone 3 and zone 4 workouts and short hill sprints. I did the zone 4 workouts mostly on uphills. I did some long runs on mountain terrain. My long runs were 16-20km with elevation gain 700m to 1200m the longest. My peak weeks were around 60-70km with 1500-2000m+

However i didn’t feel as good when i finished because my legs were starting to feel off from the 14km until the end. My quads were completely trashed and i had to walk some parts which i would normally run. Allot of athletes were passing me towards the end too. So i believe that i either should have paced myself a bit better in the first part of the race or i have poor muscle endurance that i have to further develop.. Also 3 days after and my quads are still in pain.

Again thank you all for the feedback here.

Steve

Posted In: Mountain Running

• Participant
    TerryLui on #34231

Hi Steve,
    Congrats on achieving your goal and a personal best!!

Considering you were in a race, it’s likely you pushed your limits more than you would during training (i.e. personal best), not to mention the psychological factor of being in a busy/exciting competitive environment.

Inactive