Only base training/general fitness

• Creator
    Topic
    nleatham
    Participant

Hello,
    Currently, I have no big mountaineering goals. I’ve been getting more into the sport and just want to spend more time in the mountains learning for the next year or so. As such, I’m not sure how to proceed with training. My aet is 154~ and my ant is well above 170 (haven’t done the test but I have ran for over an hour at this hr) so I definitely have ads (I’m 23). I’m pretty new to this type of training and my aet top of zone 2 pace is abysmally slow (13:00/minmile).
    I want to spend the next 6 months to a year just spending time base building and improving my general fitness. At the moment, I’m running every weekday for an hour in z2, but I’m sure I could be doing something better. Is running every day like this okay for base building? Or, should I get something like the 24-week mountaineering plan and just repeat the base building section over and over?
    Any advice is appreciated, I’m weak af but really enjoying endurance training.

• Participant
    Reed on #50946

You should be able to see consistent improvement for a long time – it’s great that you have no immediate goals but are looking to build fitness and capacity. Taking a structured plan like that 24-week mountaineering plan and repeating the base period would be a great idea.

Consistency, gradualness, and modulation are key: https://uphillathlete.com/dreams-are-not-goals/

Spend as much time as you can well below AeT – targeting 10-15 beats below will be a good conservative approach. Slowly improve your strength. I’m not breaking any records, but was able to make really substantial progress with a schedule that looked like this:

• Monday: 30-40 minute Zone 1 jog. 30-40 minute core strength workout (Scott’s Killer Core, easy version), maybe some lunges, etc.
    • Tuesday: 30-40 minute Zone 1, maybe a little bit in Zone 2