Newbie here – feedback for transition period training

• Creator
    Topic
    kocanez
    Participant

I know this is a really basic question BUT I am on my 2nd wk of transition period training and am having a really hard time *not* going over the guidelines, which I wonder if I’m interpreting incorrectly

I am a working professional so I took the estimation of 200 hrs a year, halved it, and then divided by 52, getting 115-120 mins a week of training.

Between a “long” 40min zone 1 work out, 2 25 minute strength/core sessions, and a 15min zone 2 workout, I am almost at my weekly “goal” without even doing a climb.

Is the climb supposed to be separate from the other training hours?

I have a 6 hour hike planned next Sat and another 4 or or so one on Sunday, so I am going to go over my time right there!!

Any thoughts on how to best incorporate this training practice while I still have long hikes planned for many weekends?

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #16775

Sorry for the confusion. Count only the aerobic training volume when considering weekly volume progression. Not strength. That subject has been addressed several times in the forum and was corrected in later versions of the book. BUT….the Transition period should feel easy. Its main purpose is to prepare you to begin training. For those unused to training (as opposed to random exercise) the routine of a daily program usually presents challenges. Fatigue can sneak up after a few weeks fo what feels like a light load. And the getting used to the daily routine can take some getting used to for you, friends and family.

In the end though, with no training history to go from you will be doing an experiment of one and you will learn a great deal in the process. It may well be that your background would allow more training volume that the guesstimate we used in the book. We tried to be conservative as starting off too high is way worse than starting off too high and blowing up.