Menstrual cycle and training- varied responses from my body

• Creator
    Topic
    Avni Bildhaiya
    Participant

Hi,

I am 32 years old and have been training with uphill athlete for over a year now. Before that I was reasonably active but absolutely not a fit person, but also not someone who cannot make 10 flights of stairs comfortably.
    When I started training I had a severe impact on my cycle as my ferritin was just 7 (std units, don’t remember it now)
    I corrected the ferritin levels and I mostly feel like I can train way more and my problem with periods was gone in less than 2 months.
    Right now what I observe is, and I get that it’s a strange thing to say, no real “dips” in energy or strength during the cycle on some months and some others, one week before the cycle it feels like some one put extra 50 kgs on me and everything is hard.
    I am trying to just understand on the first level, if this has a direct relationship to stress?
    Has someone here experienced something similar?
    Is there anything I could do on the not so easy week in an odd month specifically focused on recovery that does not derail me?
    On a good note, when things don’t feel that hard:
    Is strength training in the second half of the cycle really bad? Or I can just increase the uptake of protein?

Best Regards
    Avni

• Keymaster
    Jane Mackay on #67319

Hi Avni,

What you’re describing sounds very much like what I’ve experienced a lot.