Last Skier Standing / Backyard Ultra Tips?

• Creator
    Topic
    floresrm
    Participant

Goodness gracious, what have I gotten myself into?

I am signed up for a Last Skier Standing race next weekend. The format is a la Backyard Ultra.

Read more here:

In This Sufferfest, the Last Skier Standing Wins

It’s a 1 mile course with 1,000 feet of vertical gain. Each participant must finish the course within an hour and be in the starting area prior to the next lap start.

The race is over once there is only one person left in the starting area and that person completes their final lap.

I don’t expect to win (last year’s winner clocking 34 hours I believe) but would like to push myself.

Any tips?

I’ve been training consistently for about 9 months, 90% in zone 1. Coming off an over reaching week, so next week was my rest week anyway.

I’ve skinned the course before and I can do it staying mostly in Zone 1, so I imagine it will have a good training effect!

—- how should I schedule training next week?

-— any nutrition tips? Before the race and during?

—- race strategies?

—- how should I think about scheduling training the week after the race?

Appreciate any and all help!

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #49958

I can do it staying mostly in Zone 1…

How long does a Zone 1 lap take?

…so I imagine it will have a good training effect!

The duration is so long that this will be a serious withdrawal. This shouldn’t be counted as “base training”. But these events are why to train anyway. “Enjoy”!

—- how should I schedule training next week?

You shouldn’t. This should be a recovery week. So just short, easy sessions, maybe with a few pick-ups here and there.

-— any nutrition tips? Before the race and during?