Is it heart rate or average heart rate?

• Creator
    Topic
    ipdan10
    Participant

Hi, I have a question concerning how to measure and restrict(?) my HR during run workouts. I am new to running and realize that I have ADS. According to your new book on running I should stay in zone 1 and lower zone 2 during my long workouts. My question for which I can’t find answered in your book or on the web site is about the heart rate. Let’s say for example that my HR for the top of zone 1 is 130 (I am a bit older than most), should I have at the end of my run /walk an average HR of 130. Or during the workout when I hit 130 should I then reduce the effort back to say 115 and build back up to 130. Meaning the average HR would be in the low 120s. I have an Ambit 3 with chest strap and I am able to monitor both HR and Avg HR at the same time. I’m just not sure which I should use during the workout. Can you help?
    Thank you!

• Participant
    nullkru on #28283

Hi ipdan10,

If you have ADS and did the AeT test, prefered: https://uphillathlete.com/heart-rate-drift/, alternative: https://uphillathlete.com/8-diy-steps-to-figure-out-your-aerobic-threshold-indoor/, or lab testing. Then all your runs should be bellow, or at your current AeT (which is top of Z2 in the UA zone system). Your HR can drop e.g. in the downhills and that’s no problem. As far as i can say you just don’t should exceed it for a long period of time.

i asked similar questions maybe you find something useful here:

AeT Testing Outdoors. Need a little Help

AeT Testing Outdoors. Need a little Help

have a great day — mirko

Inactive
    Anonymous on #28291

If you have ADS you should be doing most, if not all, of your aerobic base training at the top of Z2 not Z1. Find your Aerobic threshold. This sets the upper limit to Z2. Stay below this during all Z2 runs. Do not use average HR.

Scott

Participant
    ipdan10 on #28292