How to Extend Base Period (Plus Dealing With Mid-Phase Surgery)

• Creator
    Topic
    Zach Wahrer
    Participant

I just started the training program outlined in the New Alpinism book (geared towards the more technical end of the spectrum). I’d like to peak next August, and since this is my first time doing a structured program, it seems like a good idea to start a bit early. The book mentions extending the base period for those who are less trained, but I’m unsure of how much load to add at the end of week 20. Any advice there?

Another question: I have a minor hernia operation scheduled after 4 weeks into my Base Phase (Doc OK’d me for training until then). He says recovery should be about 3 weeks. I know it’s a good to drop back on intensity/load once I recover, but I’d like an idea of how much. Should I start Base Phase over or just scale back a week or two? Go easy and listen to my body?

Thanks for the help! Scott and Steve, your book changed my life. I’m so happy there is now a place to ask further questions.

Posted In: Alpinism

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #3361

Zach:
    Bummer that you need surgery. But it’s a pretty minor one normally. So, good luck with that. Being in a good shape before the surgery will help you recover faster. Listen to your doc as to his recommendations for returning to training afterward.

You are being smart to get started ASAP. As for where to start when you get back at it. That is a good question but not one that has an easy answer. For the aerobic training I’d suggest starting back at the volume you were at 3 weeks before the surgery. You’ll have to be aware of how your body is responding to the training. For strength. You’ll be in the Max Strength phase then and you’ll need to assess how much you have lost in that time. But you’ll figure that out fast and you’ll regain that strength in a couple of weeks.