How much is too much?

• Creator
    Topic
    Whitney Rhodes
    Participant

Hey folks! I live in Asheville and spend most of my free time hiking. I purchased the 24-week plan to prepare for a joint Mt. Meru-Kili trip at the end of the year. This is my first time following a training plan… usually, I just hike as much I want, and often to challenge myself.

In just starting this 24-week plan, I’m noticing it cuts back on my usual hiking schedule. I’ll sometimes spend 3 hours hiking after work on weekdays. I also tend to spend 4-6 hours on the trails on Saturday. Sometimes I’m out the entire weekend backpacking. Should I stop that altogether as I follow this plan? Or adjust? Or go for it? 🙂

Also, I’m interested in learning how to incorporate other, smaller trips into the plan. I’ll be in Colorado climbing 14ers for a week in August and I plan on taking on Art Loeb and Black Mountain Crest Trail backpacking trips in the fall. How do I change the training plan for those days/weeks?

Optional context:

I am a little concerned about overtraining. I read TftNA earlier this year and tried to create a plan for myself. 2.5 months after following that self-made plan, I saw gains in my aerobic abilities (now able to run instead of walk under AeT) and I lost a decent amount of weight while building muscle. I was going 8-10 hours / 35-40 miles of aerobic exercise a week, with all my efforts on the trail or a treadmill at home and two strength/core sessions. And that was all great and all but…

…I also started feeling the impact on my knees. To be honest, I kind of started out that intense instead of building up to it. I purchased this plan to reign in my tendency to overdo it while making sure I’m dedicated my time on the most important stuff. But damn if I don’t love hiking a lot.

Thanks!

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #22830

I think you answered your own question: Don’t quit what you’re doing altogether, and don’t go for it.