Football to Alpinism problems

• Creator
    Topic
    msduncan82
    Participant

HELP!

I am new to climbing, very new to alpinism and extremely new to endurance training. I have an extensive background in high intensity training and max strength from collegiate football. I desperately yearn for a physiology that can sustain alpine climbing and mountaineering but am concerned.

After reading some of your articles and going through your book I am convinced I have developed ADS or Aerobic Deficiency Syndrome that an extreme crossfitter would have but haven’t gotten metabolic testing to prove this.

I have read the articles about eating a higher fat diet and doing fasted exercises but am looking for more advice that you may have given to a person with the worst fat burning ability you’ve ever seen.

I have a low body fat percentage naturally about 5% 6’2″ 180lb. Can keep up with friends in the mountains very well for about half a day then start bonking hard, throwing up and struggling. I can barely function without massive amounts of food. I have done a survival field course where we hiked for a day in the sun without food and I threw up 10 times that day.

Please tell me there is hope for me. These stories about 24 and 30 hour pushes with minimal food inspire me but I’m worried my bodies physiology constrains me to sport climbing and bouldering. Please tell me its not so. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

• Inactive
    Anonymous on #13402

Humans are evolutionarily predisposed to have endurance. AS a species we are some of the best endowed mammals endurance-wise. On the other hand we pretty puny when it comes to speed and power. Track coaches have a saying: Sprinters are born, distance runners are made. Mean that you can take almost anyone and turn them into an endurance athlete but speed and power athletes come out of the box with a really special set of genes.