First training plan: make it myself or not

• Creator
    Topic
    pieterjan
    Participant

I read the book “Training for the new alpinism”, and found it more than interesting! It inspired me in ways I have yet to discover.

Now, I’m very new in the world of mountaineering (did a technical course last year, so basically starting on my own this season). I have experience with multiday hiking and rock climbing but never gotten into any structured training, apart from some weekly running or stability training.

Within 11 weeks from now I’m going on a 6 day trip which includes an F-PD climb each day (and 1 rest day) in the region around Arolla (Pigne d’Arolle, Mont blanc de cheilon, etc.), so nothing extreme, experience is the goal. I’ll probably get by just doing nothing, but I really wish to excel.

I wanted to construct a training plan myself, with the info given in the book, because obviously that would be a very educational experience, however I’m struggling to cut down the 24 week training plan described, into a 10 week plan, which contains the essentials for my trip. I can’t just do the first 10 weeks of the program, because that would just prepare me for more training, not for the trip.

So I guess I need to do something like a 2 week transition (General Str), and then 4 weeks max str and 4 weeks str endurance for example? Does that makes sense? It’s so simple that it looks like it doesn’t.

Maybe the safest option here might be getting into the “8 Week Mountaineering Training Plan”, which I think matches my starting level and goal, and learn from that. I don’t know.

• Participant
    TerryLui on #16940

I would imagine if you’ve got a shortened training window then using one of the pre-made plans will make things easier for you.
    I found following a plan to ease the learning curve, especially since during that time I am also learning about my own body, strengths/weaknesses, injury, recovery, etc.