Cross-training impact questions

• Creator
    Topic
    Colin Simon
    Participant

Posted in alpinism because that’s my focus, although for the most part these questions could fit anywhere.

1. I just returned from a short Chamonix trip – plan A was alpine climbing, but climbing conditions were pretty awful. There was however an awful lot of fresh snow. When life gives you pow… we ended up skiing quite a lot. I’m an amateur skier, and this was a heavy skiing volume for me. And typically with ice climbing packs in heavy springtime snow. A couple days after returning to CO, I developed shin splints for the first time ever. It has been bad enough to wake me up at night and bug me while sitting in an office.
    My training volume since returning has been relatively low for me. Logic tells me I need to keep it pretty moderate for a while after the pain recedes. Is there a good rule to follow to decide when I can ramp it up again?

2. The emphasis here on foot-borne activities suggests to me that scrambling must be one of the better cross-training tools for alpinism. But what about ARCing, as described by the Anderson brothers? If I do 10 hours of running, hiking, ski touring…etc, can I count that the same as 8 hours of running and hiking and 2 hours of ARCing at the local climbing gym?

3. Nutrition side question: Steve/Scott’s writing around here generally suggests that most energy gels provide a more even-keeled energy source than most energy chews. But what about most drink mixes that contain substantial calories, e.g. Skratch labs mix? You get ~100 calories in a serving, and the first ingredient is Glucose, which suggests to me that it’s going to provide more of an energy “spike” than a “curve.” Also, if that’s right, why do so many cyclists swear by it?

Posted In: Alpinism

• Keymaster
    Steve House on #4890

Hi Colin,
    Here are some thoughts: