Connecting training plans with objectives

• Creator
    Topic
    Jeremy
    Participant

Hello.

I am currently doing the 12 week beginner base training plan. I believe the heaviest load is the second to last week of 15% body weight for 3 hours on hilliest terrain.

When looking in the book TFNA, as an example, the recommended load/volume for training for Mt Rainier for a novice at 58 yrs is, for example, 1219m at 25% body weight in zone 1.

To get to that level would i simply extend my training plan beyond the 12 weeks while keep increasing weight and duration until i can comfortably achieve the training goals of 1219m of vertical at 25% body weight?

If I do not have a specific goal within a certain time frame(I’m a beginner) would it make sense to do a 24 week training plan instead of a 12 week plan to make better gains/adaptations?

Also I’m sure that the example of Mt Rainier above assumes that the 1219m of vert in zone 1 is covered in a reasonable amount of time.

I have both books so if I missed something don’t hesitate to refer me to the book sections.

Thank in advance

PS: FYI I’m happy to mention that when starting training about a year ago, while keeping under my AeT it was a slow walk up the hilliest terrain(https://www.vancouvertrails.com/trails/bcmc-trail/) in my area. Now I am travelling about twice the speed with 10% body weight while under my AeT – (which has increased as well.) All thanks to UA.

MarkPostle on #68998